The Colorado School Attendance Law
requires regular school attendance for children under the age of seventeen
years. C.R.S. § 22-33-101 et seq. This law places the responsibility of regular
attendance on both the student and the parent.
When a child misses more than a
reasonable number of days due to illness, school policy requires notes from a
doctor or the absences will be unexcused.
A student should not be absent due to illness for a long period of time
unless the student has a documented serious illness, is in the hospital, or is
under a doctor’s care. If a child has
missed more than a reasonable number of days due to illness, then a doctor’s
note is needed to excuse each absence due to illness. The
absence will not be excused until the school receives the doctor’s note. It is the parent’s responsibility to make sure
that the student is at school, on time, every day.
Attendance Monitoring Procedures
Colorado School Attendance Law requires that
students miss no more than 10 school days per year, excused or unexcused. In
the event that a student has missed 10 or more days of school, he/she will be
placed on an attendance contract requiring that they do not miss any more days
without a note from a doctor. Parents/Guardians cannot excuse days missed
beyond ten. Non-compliance with the attendance contract may result in a student
and parent being required to appear in Adams County Truancy Court.
During the school year, parents/guardians will
be notified via mail if their student is in danger of reaching the 10 day
limit. These are automatically generated form letters and will be sent to every
parent/guardian that has a student who has missed a significant amount of
Parents/Guardians must call the school on the
same day of their student’s absence or on the first day of a multi-day
absence. It is the student’s
responsibility to speak with the teachers for work that can be made up. Many
classroom experiences such as videos, special presentations, lab experiments,
etc., cannot be repeated, and the teacher is under no obligation to duplicate
those experiences for the student who misses school with a prearranged absence.
Periodically, parents/guardians have decided to take their student’s on vacations during the school year. This is not encouraged or condoned as we believe that good attendance is fundamental to the success of our students. However, the first ten missed days are used at the discretion of the parent/guardian unless the student has already been placed on an attendance contract during the previous school year.
Students who have reached their 10 day limit for
absences will not be excused for any reason without a doctors’ note. Family
emergencies may constitute an excused absence. Please contact the principal for
The following shall be considered excused absences:
· Temporary illness or injury
· Pre-arranged absences approved by an administrator/counselor
· Absent due to physical, mental or emotional disability
· School sponsored activity with advance approval by administration
· The Attendance Office phone line is open 24 hours a day. The Otho E. Stuart Middle School Attendance Line is (720) 685-5507. Advanced notice of an excused absence is greatly appreciated. A doctor’s excuse for readmission may be required for an absence caused by a contagious or infectious disease.
· Prearranged absences are those that are anticipated by the student and her/his family, and they should be discussed with the Attendance Clerk prior to the absences. The student should make provisions in advance with her/his teachers to gather and/or complete the work to be missed.
· Work missed during any excused absence may be made up by arrangements between the student and the individual teacher. Time limits on such make-up work shall normally be one more day than the number of days absent. If a student is absent, make-up work will be provided upon parent/guardian request. Requested work will be available 48 hours after the request has been initiated. Weekends or holidays are not considered a part of the 48-hour window.
· Homework will not be
provided in anticipation of a pre-arranged absence. Students will be given the
total days missed, plus one day upon their return to complete any assignments
or tests missed during their time of absence. Students who are suspended from
school will not be given assignments prior to the suspension.
Make-up Work and Tests
It is the student’s responsibility to contact
the teacher to receive missed work.
1. During an excused absence:
2. During a truancy (unexcused absence):
· Students with unexcused absences shall NOT receive credit for class work missed. However, they will be held responsible for the content and the completion of class work covered during their unexcused absence.
3. During an out-of school suspension:
Students will be allowed to make-up work during
an out-of-school suspension. Students will be given the same
number of days they were suspended plus one additional day to make up those
assignments that were assigned on the day of the absence. For example, if a
student misses two days, he or she will have three days to make up the
If a student is absent without an
excuse signed by the parent/guardian or if the student leaves school or a class
without permission of the teacher or administrator in charge, the student shall
be considered truant. A “habitually
truant” shall be defined as a student of compulsory attendance age who has four
unexcused absences from school or from class in any one (1) month or (10)
unexcused absences during any school year.
Absences due to suspension or expulsion shall not be counted in the
total of unexcused absences.
In order to reduce the incidents of
truancy parents/guardians of all students shall be notified in writing at the
beginning of each school year of their obligation to ensure that all children
of compulsory attendance age attend school.
Parents/guardians shall be required to acknowledge in writing awareness
of their obligations and to furnish the school with a telephone number or other
means of contacting them during the school day.
The school shall establish a system
of monitoring individual unexcused absences.
When a student fails to repot on a regularly scheduled school day and
school personnel have received no indication that the parent/guardian is aware
of the absence, school personnel or volunteers under the direction of school
personnel shall make a reasonable effort to notify the parent/guardian by
A plan shall be developed for a
student who is a risk of being declared habitually truant with the goal of
assisting the child to remain in school. When practicable, the child’s parent,
guardian or legal custodian shall participate, with district personnel during
the development of the plan. Appropriate
school personnel shall make all reasonable efforts to meet with the parent or
guardian to review and evaluate the reasons for the child’s truancy. Adopted: 03/09/94 Revised: 10/12/94,
Stuart Middle School we take tardies as
seriously as we do absences. So do the judges
over Adams County Truancy Court. Please remember that 3 unexcused tardies
equal 1 full day absence. Students
when they are not
in their classrooms when the bell
rings, even if only one minute late. Students receive a discipline referral
when they accumulate 3 or more tardies over the course of a week (Monday
students will be invited on school-sponsored field trips. Any student absent from regular classes will
be responsible for any assignment due for the next regularly scheduled
class. This would include tests,
homework or other daily work assignments.
Leaving Campus During School Hours
Every student missing a class and/or leaving campus before her/his regular dismissal time must have clearance from the Attendance Clerk or administration prior to the absence. Parent/Guardian contact will be necessary before any student is permitted to leave.
Students who become ill during the school day should report to the Health office. The Health Aide or Main Office personnel will evaluate the nature of the illness and assist in contacting the parent/guardian for transportation home. The Health Aide or one of the Main Office personnel will notify the Attendance Office to excuse the student from classes missed.
Parents/Guardians or the listed emergency contact person(s) are the only adults who can excuse and/or pick up a student from school. Students who do not follow this procedure and go home on their own without permission from the health aide, attendance clerk or one of the main office personnel will be considered truant.