• Welcome School Health Assistants

    Thank you for all you do!

     
    Health services are provided to the Brighton School District 27J through consultation from the Children’s Hospital Colorado, School Health Program. The school nurse consultant functions as a liaison between the Children’s Hospital, the community, and the school by providing information, referrals, and resources.  The nurse consultant assists schools to provide the safest, evidence-based health care services within the school setting. 

    Each RN consultant covers several schools in the district and can be reached during school hours by cell phone.
  • The health office in each school building is staffed with a health assistant who is employed by the district to assist students with daily health needs.

    Services provided by the School Health Assistant include
    Organizes and runs the school health office
    • Provides basic First Aid
    • Administers routine medications
    • Conducts and documents vision and hearing screening
    • Maintains health files (including immunization records)
    • Monitors and documents immunization compliance of student body
    • Notifies the RN of student health concerns or infectious diseases
    • Maintains preschool documentation (office visits, screenings, immunizations)
    • Maintains certification in CPR and First Aid; gives routine medications and performs special health procedures as delegated

    Services not provided by the School Health Assistant
    The health assistant cannot give medical opinions concerning students’ health
    • The health office does not function as a clinic. If students need medical attention, parents will be advised to contact their health care provider
    • The health office cannot give any medication to any child unless that child has permission for a particular medication from their healthcare provider and parent
    • The health assistant cannot store or distribute medications for staff

Name Schools Phone Email
Jenny Albietz BLARC and Brighton HS 720-951-1765 jalbietz.contractor@sd27j.net
Jessica Gabbert RN Coordinator and Reunion Elementary 720-951-5246 jgabbert.contractor@sd27j.net
Kala Bennett South, Thimmig, Overland Trail 720-951-4257 kbennett.contractor@sd27j.net
Karen Hecker Prairie View Middle and Prairie View High 720-403-1134 khecker.contractor@sd27j.net
Jeannette LaSala Vikan, BOLT/BRIDGE, Henderson, West Ridge 720-951-1028 jlasala.contractor@sd27j.net
Haley Houtchens Brantner, Pennock, Southeast and Stuart MS 720-951-4276 hhoutchens.contractor@sd27j.net
Andria Redman North, Northeast, Belle Creek, Bromley East, Eagle Ridge Academy 720-951-1157 aredman.contractor@sd27j.net
Kim Bacon Turnberry, Second Creek, BHA and TLC 720-305-7692 kbacon.contractor@sd27j.net