BHS Upcoming Events
August 7, 2021
9:00 AM - 12:00 PM Back to School Kick Off/Sakata Campus Grand Opening Save The Date
August 10, 2021
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM Freshman Orientation Day
5:00 PM - 7:00 PM Back to School Night (Details coming soon-times may be adjusted)
5:00 PM - 7:00 PM Back to School Night for Jenelle at BHS
August 11, 2021
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM First Day Back for All Students
August 19, 2021
3:45 PM - 4:30 PM 10th and 11th Class meetings - during advisory class
August 20, 2021
3:45 PM - 4:30 PM Senior Class meeting during advisory class
Advancing Colorado’s health and protecting the places we live, learn, work and play
Dear parents/guardians of students in Colorado kindergarten – 12th grade schools for the 2021-22 school year:
We know you’re thinking of all the things you need to do to make sure your student is ready for school. Getting vaccinated is an important part of their school readiness and keeps children from catching and spreading diseases that can make them sick. We wish you and your student a healthy school year!
Required and recommended vaccines
- Colorado law requires students who attend a public, private, or parochial kindergarten - 12th grade school to be vaccinated against many of the diseases vaccines can prevent, unless a certificate of exemption is filed. For more information, visit cdphe.colorado.gov/schoolrequiredvaccines. Your student must be vaccinated against: o Diphtheria, tetanus and pertussis (DTaP, DTP, Tdap)
o Hepatitis B (HepB)
o Measles, mumps and rubella (MMR)
o Polio (IPV)
o Varicella (chickenpox)
- Colorado follows recommendations set by the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices. Students entering kindergarten must receive their final doses of DTaP, IPV, MMR and varicella. Students entering 6th grade must receive one dose of Tdap vaccine, even if they are under 11 years of age. You can view recommended vaccine schedules at cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/parents-adults/resources-parents.html.
- Vaccines are recommended for hepatitis A, influenza, meningococcal disease and human papillomavirus, but are not required.
Exclusion from school
- Your student may be excluded from school if your school does not have an up-to-date vaccine record, certificate of exemption, or in-process plan for your student on file.
- If someone gets sick with a vaccine-preventable disease or there is an outbreak at your student’s school and your student has not received the vaccine for that disease, they may be excluded from school activities. That could mean lost learning time for them and lost work and wages for you. For example, if your student has not received a MMR vaccine, they may be excluded from school for 21 days after someone gets sick with measles.
- You may want to talk to a healthcare provider licensed to give vaccines or your local public health agency about which vaccines your student needs or if you have questions. You can read about the safety and importance of vaccines at SpreadTheVaxFacts.com, ImmunizeForGood.com, and
Paying for vaccinations
- If you need help finding free or low-cost vaccines and providers who give them, go to COVax4Kids.org, contact your local public health agency, or call the state health department’s Family Health Line at 1-303-692-2229 or 1-800-688-7777. You can find your local public health agency at
- Please take your student’s updated vaccine record to school every time they receive a vaccine. ● Need to find your student’s vaccine record? It may be available from the Colorado Immunization Information System. Visit COVaxRecords.org for more information.
- If your student cannot get vaccines because of medical reasons, you must submit a Certificate of Medical Exemption to your school, signed by a health care provider licensed to give vaccines. You only need to submit this certificate once, unless your student’s information or school changes. You can get the form at cdphe.colorado.gov/vaccine-exemptions.
- If you choose not to have your student vaccinated according to the current recommended schedule because of personal belief or religious reasons, you must submit a Certificate of Nonmedical Exemption to your school.
Nonmedical exemptions must be submitted annually at every new school year (July 1st through June 30th of the following year). There are two ways to file a nonmedical exemption.
○ File the Certificate of Nonmedical Exemption WITH a signature from an immunizing provider, OR ○ File the Certificate of Nonmedical Exemption received upon the completion of our online education module.
Downloadable certificates and our online education module are available at
How’s your school doing on vaccinations?
- Some parents, especially those with students who have weakened immune systems, may want to know which schools have the highest percent of vaccinated students. Schools must report immunization and exemption numbers (but not student names or birth dates) to the state health department annually. Schools do not control their specific immunization and exemption rates or establish the Vaccinated Children Standard described in C.R.S. 25-4-911. Schools must include their MMR immunization and exemption rates from the most recently completed school year in this letter. Schools may choose to also include immunization and exemption rates for other school-required vaccines. Additional immunization and exemption rates can be found at COVaxRates.org.
2019-2020 MMR Immunization Rate
REQUIRED IN LETTER
2019-2020 MMR Exemption Rate
REQUIRED IN LETTER
Schools may also include the rates for the school-required vaccines shown below in this annual letter to parents/guardians
Vaccinated Children Standard
95% Immunization Rate for All School-Required Vaccines
Brighton High School has a new policy that you need to be aware of:
- Beginning on Tuesday, October 15th, students will no longer be able to re–enter the building, until the bell rings. (This is in effect, every period of the day)
- Students who have a hall pass, completed and signed by a teacher, will be allowed entrance but must have it verified, by a campus supervisor at the kiosk.
- If you are tardy, you must check in to the kiosk. The campus supervisor will give you a tardy pass but…3 tardies = 1 detention.
- Please make sure that you are prepared for the weather before you exit the building!
This policy is subject to change as deemed necessary.
File: JICG -2
TOBACCO, NICOTINE AND CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE DELIVERY MECHANISMS
School districts are required by law to have a policy prohibiting student use or possession of tobacco at school and in related locations as described in Superintendent Policy JK – Student Code of Conduct. Parents or students who have concerns or questions about student tobacco, nicotine and drug issues are encouraged to contact a school counselor or mental health provider, school administration, or District administration to discuss resources that may be available to assist them.
- Violations. State and federal law and District Policy prohibit the use or possession of any tobacco or nicotine product or controlled substance on school property. This includes marijuana, even if legally purchased through retail establishments or prescribed.
The use or possession of any delivery mechanism or device that could be used for the consumption, ingestion, inhalation or application of tobacco or nicotine products or controlled substances is prohibited on school grounds. This includes without limitation pipes, hookah pens, vaporizers, and electronic cigarettes. In addition to violating District Policy, such devices compromise the health and well-being of students and staff members, and their use on school grounds is disruptive to the learning environment. Because such devices may be used with either tobacco or nicotine products or with controlled substances, disciplinary consequences more severe than are imposed for tobacco/nicotine products are warranted.
- Consequences and Interventions. The typical progression of interventions for violations of
this policy will be as follows:
2.1 1st Offense – Education about the policy should be provided and student may be suspended out of school for up to one (1) day. Alternative to suspension opportunities may be considered by school administration as described in District Policy JKD – Student Due Process. The device will be confiscated and will only be returned to parents upon request.
2.2 2nd Offense – Student may be suspended for up to three (3) days in or out of school. Alternative to suspension opportunities may be considered by school administration as described in District Policy JKD – Student Due Process. The device will be confiscated.
2.3 3rd Offense – Student may be suspended up to five (5) days.
- Using, possessing or being under the influence of tobacco, nicotine or controlled substances are separate offenses that may warrant discipline in addition to the consequences described above and as set forth in the applicable District Policies
Adopted: August 2, 2019
LEGAL REFS: C.R.S. 22-32-109 (1) (bb) (1) C.R.S. 25-14-103.5 (6)
CROSS REFS: IHAM, Health Instruction
File: JICG -2
KFA, Public Conduct on District Property JK, Student Code of Conduct JKD, Student Due Process JICG, Student Tobacco and Nicotine Violations JICH, Student Drug and Alcohol Violations